P.O. Box 1360, Ashcroft, British Columbia, Canada V0K 1A0
Tel: (250) 453-2045; Fax: (250) 453-2075
OUT OF PRINT TITLE INFORMATION
THE STONEGROUND GHOST
COMPILED FROM THE RECOLLECTIONS OF
THE REVEREND ROLAND BATCHEL, VICAR OF THE PARISH
by E. G. Swain
with an Introduction by Cardinal Cox
and a Tailpiece by Jack Adrian
1-899562-17-6; xviii + 121pp
Published 18 October 1996 in an edition of 400 copies
E.G. Swain was Vicar of Stanground in East Anglia, and a friend of M.R. James. In 1912 he published a collection of stories featuring the Revd Mr Batchel, a mild-mannered clergyman who is constantly running across supernatural happenings in his parish. These charming ghost stories, written by Swain as a tribute to his friend Monty James, have been favourites of ghost story fans for many years. The Introduction to this volume is by Cardinal Cox, and Jack Adrian supplies an amusing tailpiece, which recounts a great Swain find he once had (and which is reproduced in the book). There is also a reprint of the lengthy obituary of Swain which appeared in the Peterborough Advertiser on 3 February 1938. The front cover illustration is by Rachel Crittenden.
Contents: Introduction by Cardinal Cox; 'The Man With the Roller'; 'Bone to His Bone'; 'The Richpins'; 'The Eastern Window'; 'Lubrietta'; 'The Rockery'; 'The Indian Lamp-shade'; 'The Place of Safety'; 'The Kirk Spook'; Obituary of E.G. Swain; A Serendipitous Tailpiece by Jack Adrian.
Return to Out of Print Titles Main Page
© Ash-Tree Press 2003